RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us

Tesco CEO to retire

Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn
Staff writer | Houston, Tx., USA | August 22, 2014
Julio M. QuintanaAugust 22, 2014, Houston, Tx., USA - Tesco Corporation announced that Julio M. Quintana, president and chief executive officer, has elected to retire at the beginning of January, 2015.
Mr. Quintana served as the Chief Executive Officer of Tesco Corporation since September 1, 2005 and also served as its Executive Vice President as well as Chief Operating Officer since September 1, 2004. He served as the Chief Financial Officer of Tesco Corporation. He served as a Vice President of Exploitation (North & South America), Schlumberger and Vice President & General Manager (Global) of Integrated Project Management.

Prior to Schlumberger, he served as Deepwater Manager and Asset Manager of Mid-Continent Asset Group of Unocal Corporation after holding various other positions throughout a nineteen year career with that company. He has been an Independent Director at SM Energy Company since July 7, 2006.

Mr. Quintana holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Southern California in Los Angeles, California.

In accordance with the company's succession plan, the board has designated Fernando R. Assing, currently Executive Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer, to succeed Mr. Quintana.

Mr. Assing came to Tesco in 2009 as Senior Vice President of Marketing and Business Development. He was subsequently promoted to the role of Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer in 2011 and Executive Vice President and COO earlier this year.

Prior to coming to Tesco in 2009, Mr. Assing served in a series of operational and management roles of increasing responsibility during approximately 12 years at Schlumberger Ltd and 6 years at Technip. Mr. Assing is a 1991 graduate of Jose Maria Vargas University in Caracas, Venezuela.

The transition of responsibilities to Mr. Assing is planned to be completed by mid-December 2014.