RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us

Trans-Pacific Partnership to continue next month

Staff writer ▼ | February 27, 2015
Negotiators from Asia-Pacific are set to meet in Hawaii next month to continue discussions on a trade agreement spanning 12 countries.
Hawaii   From March 9 to 15
The U.S. will host chief negotiators meeting in Hawaii from March 9-15 to discuss the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP). The meeting could serve as the backdrop for a significant step in the process of negotiations spanning the region.

"If a breakthrough in the negotiations occurs during the meeting in Honolulu, the city would be cited every time mentions of the successful agreement are discussed," said John Holman, director, Pacific of the U.S. Commercial Service/U.S. Department of Commerce.

Nations participating in the TPP include Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam. Other nations may sign on after an agreement has been reached.

After the TPP is negotiated between participating nations, it will go back to each country's legislative body for approval.