RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us

Senegal bans EU nationals after being blacklisted

Christian Fernsby ▼ | July 4, 2020
Senegal announced Friday it will not re-open its airspace to EU travelers after the bloc did not include it on a list of “safe” states due to the coronavirus, according media reports.
Senegal border
Ban   Senegal border
The EU issued a list Tuesday of 15 nations considered safe Tuesday, taking into account “epidemiological criteria,” including Africa nations with a high number of confirmed coronavirus cases and deaths, such as Algeria and Morocco, the Africa News website reported Friday.

Topics: Senegal

The EU'S list included only the African nations of Rwanda, Tunisia, Morocco and Algeria, according to the website.

Dakar declared a ban on travelers from the EU states Wednesday, issued by Minister of Tourism and Air Transport Alioune Sarr without providing further details.

Gabon also issued a similar ban on EU citizens. Senegal confirmed 7,054 COVID-19 cases with 125 deaths, according to data compiled by US-based John Hopkins University.