RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us

Japan to add 11 countries to entry ban list amid spread of coronavirus

Christian Fernsby ▼ | May 26, 2020
Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe said on Monday that Japan will deny the entry of foreign nationals from an additional 11 countries including India, in an effort to contain the spread of coronavirus.
Tokyo street
Japan   Tokyo street
According to the entry ban, non-Japanese citizens who have been in Afghanistan, Argentina, Bangladesh, El Salvador, Ghana, Guinea, India, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, South Africa and Tajikistan within two weeks of their arrival in Japan will be turned away at the border.

Topics: Japan

The ban will take effect from Wednesday, said Abe, adding that it will remain in place "for the time being."

The addition brings the total number of countries and regions covered by the entry ban to 111, including China, South Korea, the United States and all of Europe.

While Japanese citizens can re-enter the country, they must undergo coronavirus testing and self-quarantine for two weeks to see if they develop symptoms such as high fever and coughing.

Japan will maintain other border control measures until the end of next month, including visa suspensions and a two-week quarantine period for all arrivals, said Abe.