RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us

Japan adds 18 countries, regions to entry ban list over coronavirus

Christian Fernsby ▼ | June 29, 2020
The Japanese government said Monday that it will add another 18 countries and regions including Algeria, Cuba and Iraq to its entry ban list in an effort to contain the spread of coronavirus.
Japan border control
Algeria, Cuba and Iraq   Japan border control
Starting from Wednesday, foreign travelers who have been to the countries or regions within 14 days of their arrival in Japan will be denied entry in principle, the government said.

Topics: Japan coronavirus

These new additions are mainly in Latin America, the Middle East and Africa, where the numbers of COVID-19 cases are increasing.

Japan will also maintain other border control measures such as suspension of visa issuance by its embassies in the listed countries and regions until the end of July.

Japan is estimated to have received only 1,700 foreign travelers in May, an all-time low and a 99.9-percent plunge compared to a year earlier with the travel restrictions in effect, the latest government data revealed.

Meanwhile, the government is considering relaxing travel restrictions on countries where the situation has improved.

The Japanese government also said Monday that it will not yet declare another state of emergency despite a recent spike in daily COVID-19 cases in Tokyo and an uptick in infections nationwide.