RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us

India signs Open Skies agreement with 6 countries

Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn
Staff Writer | December 22, 2016
India has signed agreements with Sri Lanka, Finland, Spain Jamaica, Guyana, and Czech Republic.
Air India
Air travel   Unlimited number of flights
Airlines from those nations can operate unlimited number of flights to six Indian metro airports.

Terming the pact as "Open Skies agreement as per National Civil Aviation Policy (NCAP) 2016", the Civil Aviation Ministry said the new arrangement would encourage connectivity and passenger travel between India and these countries.

The pacts allow "unlimited number of flights to six metro airports namely Delhi, Mumbai, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Bengaluru and Chennai," it said in a release.

New Air Service Agreements have also been signed with Jamaica and Guyana. These agreements were signed during the recently concluded International Civil Aviation Negotiations (ICAN) 2016 at Nassau, Bahamas.

According to the release, India held negotiations with 17 countries and Memorandum of Understanding was signed with 12 countries at ICAN.