RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us

Hungary, Austria, Slovakia, Czech Republic reopen borders to each other

Christian Fernsby ▼ | June 6, 2020
Travel restrictions between Hungary, Austria, the Czech Republic and Slovakia was completely lifted, Hungary's Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade Peter Szijjarto said on his Facebook page on Friday.
Hungary street
Restrictions   Hungary street
The four countries' foreign ministers had numerous telephone consultations in recent days on mutually lifting restrictions on borders, the minister said.

Topics: Hungary Austria Slovakia Czech

"In the end, we managed to agree on all the technical issues, so from today 8 a.m., Hungarian, Czech, Austrian and Slovak citizens will be able to travel to each other's countries without any restrictions," Szijjarto added.

Citizens are now allowed to cross the borders between Hungary, Austria, the Czech Republic and Slovakia without presenting a negative coronavirus test and without having to undergo an obligatory quarantine, according to the chief of Hungarian diplomacy.

On May 26, Hungary, Slovakia and the Czech Republic have reopened their respective borders to each other's citizens for stays of no more than 48 hours without quarantine.