RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us

Finland to impose travel restrictions for Austria, Slovenia and Switzerland

Christian Fernsby ▼ | July 24, 2020
The government of Finland has decided to again impose border checks for people arriving from Austria, Slovenia and Switzerland.
Finland airport
Arriving   Finland airport
That means that as of next week, these people will be urged to voluntarily quarantine themselves for two weeks on arrival in Finland.

Topics: Finland Austria Slovenia Switzerland

The number of coronavirus infections in these three countries has once again begun to rise.

All three are in the Schengen zone, though Switzerland is not an EU member.

The new restrictions take effect on Monday, 27 July.

The Finnish government has decided that restrictions can be waived for countries where fewer than eight coronavirus cases have been diagnosed per 100,0000 within the last 14 days.

Internal border controls remain in place for travel between Finland and the Czech Republic, France, Luxembourg, Portugal, Poland, Spain and Sweden.

They are all part of the Schengen Area, which include 22 EU states as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

Restrictions have been lifted for the other Nordic states (Denmark, Iceland and Norway) and the Baltic states (Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania), as well as Belgium, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Malta, the Netherlands and Slovakia.