RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us

E-visa for India to be announced for 43 countries

Staff writer ▼ | November 26, 2014
The list of 43 countries in the first phase of Tourist Visa on Arrival, enabled by Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA), is to be announced.
E-visa India
Easier entry   Electronic Travel Authorization
The countries for which this facility can be extended include Germany, France, Italy, Sweden, Netherlands, Switzerland, Spain, Belgium, Austria, Denmark, Poland, Norway, Ireland, Portugal, Russia, South Africa, Turkey, Israel, Mauritius, Czech Republic, Oman, Argentina and Kazakhstan.

Currently, India gives visa on arrival to travelers from Finland, the Philippines, Laos, Myanmar, Cambodia, Singapore, Indonesia, Vietnam Luxembourg, Japan and New Zealand.

Subsequently, all 180 countries which host India's diplomatic mission, apart from eight, Pakistan, Sudan, Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Nigeria, Sri Lanka and Somalia, will be included in the VoA list.

The proposal for the ETA or e-visa, allowing entry of foreign tourists without a physical visa, had been announced by the previous government earlier this year.

The ETA portal has been developed by National Informatics Centre (NIC). The portal has been undergoing trial runs and sorting out glitches for over two months now, stated an official overseeing the launch. The software has also been integrated with the 43 Indian embassies to validate the e-visa forms of potential Indian visitors who apply.

The ministries of home affairs (MHA), tourism and external affairs (MEA) and Intelligence Bureau have deliberated on the e-visa matter. The infrastructure support, in terms of personnel deployed, comes from MHA through the Bureau of Immigration.