RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us

EU Parliament decides on reallocation of UK seats after Brexit

Staff Writer | January 24, 2018
Of the 73 seats the UK currently holds in the European Parliament, 28 will be redistributed among other member states after the UK’s departure from the EU, the European Parliament’s Committee on Constitutional Affairs decided, says LETA/EUOBSERVER.
EU Parliament
Europe   France, Spain, Italy and the Netherlands
France, Spain, Italy and the Netherlands will be the biggest gainers from the decision which the committee passed by 21 votes to four.

The reallocation of seats will only apply after the parliament elections of May 2019, two months after the end of the two-year Brexit negotiation period between the UK and the EU.

The number of French MEPs will grow from 74 to 79, while Spanish MEPs will increase in number from 54 to 59.

Italy and the Netherlands each gain three seats, going from 73 to 76 and 26 to 29 respectively. Ireland will increase its number of MEPs from to 11 to 13.

Denmark, Estonia, Croatia, Austria, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Finland, and Sweden all have been allocated one additional seat.

Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Portugal, and Slovenia will keep the same number of MEPs as they have today.