RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us

Eight countries back Ukraine's demand free trade with Russia

Staff writer ▼ | April 19, 2016
EU, U.S., Canada, Australia, Japan, Turkey, Switzerland and South Korea have backed Ukraine's demand to lift all restrictions in trade and provide for free transit of goods by the Russian Federation.
Natalia Mykolska
Trade tensions   The restrictions of Ukrainian exports
Trade Representative of Ukraine - Deputy Minister of Economic Development and Trade Natalia Mykolska announced that.

"Ukraine's position is backed by the EU, U.S., Canada, Australia, Japan, Turkey, Switzerland, South Korea," she wrote on her Twitter page on April 15.

Mykolska said that the restrictions of Ukrainian exports and transit by Russia were discussed at a meeting of the Council for Trade in Goods of the World Trade Organization (WTO) in Geneva on April 15.

The Russian government from January 1, 2016 imposed restrictions on transit of cargos from Ukraine to Kazakhstan across its territory: cargos are to go via Belarus (only two checkpoints on the Belarusian and Russian border and three checkpoints on the Russian and Kazakh border).