RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us
Post Online Media
Post Online Media Magazine

California Governor declares state of emergency in eight counties due to winter storms

Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn
Christian Fernsby |
Governor Gavin Newsom
America   Governor Gavin Newsom

Governor Gavin Newsom issued an emergency proclamation for the counties of Butte, Colusa, Del Norte, Mariposa, Napa, Santa Cruz, Solano and Tuolumne to help communities recover from severe February storms that caused widespread flooding, mudslides and damage to critical infrastructure.

The Governor previously declared an emergency for 26 counties across the state due to the February storms.

The emergency proclamations direct Caltrans to formally request immediate assistance through the Federal Highway Administration’s Emergency Relief Program and the Office of Emergency Services to provide assistance to local governments.

"I find that conditions of extreme peril to the safety of persons and property exist due to the winter storms in Butte, Colusa, Del Norte, Mariposa, Napa, Santa Cruz, Solano, and Tuolumne counties," said the governor.

What to read next
POST Online Media Contact