RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us

Switzerland permits entry for workers from third countries as of July 6

Christian Fernsby ▼ | June 28, 2020
Switzerland’s government has decided to permit third-country citizens to enter the Swiss territory from July 6, as part of efforts to relax some of its restrictions, which have been imposed due to the Coronavirus pandemic situation, the Federal Council of Switzerland announced in a notice published in its official website.
Entry   Switzerland
The notice explains that, starting from July 6, the Federal Council will relax all the restrictions on the admission of workers from third countries i.e. non-EU or EFTA states. The cantons will also begin to process residence applications from third-country citizens who are not planning to work in Switzerland, such as persons who have retired, to which the normal criteria will once again apply, reports.

Topics: Switzerland

Anyway, third-country citizens are still ineligible to travel to Switzerland on holiday as a stay of fewer than 90 days that do not normally require a permit will only be authorised in cases of special necessity.

“In view of the latest developments in the pandemic, in its next step the Federal Council plans to lift restrictions on the admission of workers from third countries on July 6, i.e. the usual quota system will apply from this date. This means, for example, that it will again be possible to come to Switzerland to work in the tourism or culture sectors, or to take education or training courses while working, e.g. as an au-pair, agricultural trainee or on a youth exchange programme,” the statement reads.

On June 5, The Swiss Federal Council on its meeting supported a decision for citizens of all European Union Member States, including Britons, as well as citizens of the Schengen Associated Countries – Liechtenstein, Norway, and Iceland, to be eligible to enter the country as of June 15.

The decision was suggested by the Federal Department of Justice and Police and presented to the Council by the Federal Councillor Karin Keller-Sutter.

“Federal Councillor Karin Keller-Sutter informed the Federal Council at its meeting on June 5 that the Federal Department of Justice and Police FDJP intends to lift the existing entry restrictions, applicable with regard to all EU/EFTA states and the United Kingdom as of June 15,” a press release of the Swiss Council stressed at the time.