#stayhome Maintain the distance, wash your hands, and follow instructions from the health authorities.
RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us

Japan to ban travelers from 18 European countries and Iran

Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn
Christian Fernsby ▼ | March 24, 2020
Japan is set to ban entry of foreign nationals coming from 18 European countries and Iran to curb the spread of the coronavirus, local media reported on Tuesday.
Japan port
Japan   Japan port
Kyodo News Agency said foreign travelers who have been to any of the 19 countries in the two weeks before arriving in Japan will be turned away.

Topics: Japan ban Europe Iran

The European countries are Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, and the Vatican.

“Barring special circumstances, there will not be any exceptions,” Foreign Minister Toshimitsu Motegi said at a news conference on Tuesday.

The report cited a government source as saying that a task force chaired by Prime Minister Shinzo Abe will take a decision soon on when the ban will come into force.

The move, which would be the broadest set of border controls imposed by Japan, comes as the number of COVID-19 cases in the country has risen over 1,120, with 42 deaths.