RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us

Ireland cuts travel green list down to four countries

Christian Fernsby ▼ | September 25, 2020
Ireland on Thursday removed Germany, Poland and Lithuania from its travel green list, leaving just four countries exempt from a 14 day quarantine for arriving passengers.
Ireland street
Germany, Poland and Lithuania   Ireland street
Ireland, which has some of the tightest travel restrictions in Europe, is only allowing quarantine free travel from countries with a coronavirus infection rate of under 25 cases per 100,000 people over the past 14 days.

Topics: Ireland

As a result, travellers arriving from all countries other than Cyprus, Finland, Latvia and Liechtenstein must go into quarantine for 14 days from Monday next week, the Department of Foreign Affairs said in a statement.

Three of those countries have restrictions on travellers from Ireland, which currently has a coronavirus infection rate of 71 cases per 100,000 people, according to the European Centre for Disease Control.

The Irish government has said it will adopt a more liberal system of coordinated travel restrictions proposed by the European Commission once they are adopted in mid-October.