RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us

Indian government releases draft rules for no-fly list

Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn
Staff Writer | May 5, 2017
The Indian government on Friday announced new draft rules for country's no-fly list to prevent unruly passengers travelling by domestic airlines.
India airline
Air travel   In wake of an incident
The three-level classification comprises physical gestures, unruly behavior and murderous assault.

According to Civil Aviation Minister Ashok Gajapathy Raju, who released the draft rules, passengers can be suspended from flying for three months to two years or more depending on how far they have cross the line.

This is the first time that a no-fly list was being proposed in India to address the issues pertaining to civil aviation safety.

Officials said the draft rules will first be put up online for a month to invite feedback from general public.

The draft rules come in wake of an incident involving Indian lawmaker Ravindra Gaikwad who assaulted an Air India staffer. Gaikwad boasted of beating a 63-year-old Air India manager with his slipper 25 times.

Though he was banned by the airliners for some days, the ban was later revoked after he regretted the incident in parliament.