RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us

Germany puts more European regions on red list

Christian Fernsby ▼ | September 10, 2020
Germany added more European regions on red list for which there is an increased risk of coronavirus infections.
Germany street
Red list   Germany street
France: the regions Occitanie, Nouvelle-Aquitaine, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes and Corsica are now also considered risk areas.

Topics: Germany

Switzerland: the cantons of Geneva and Vaud are considered risk areas.

Croatia: the counties of Dubrovnik-Neretva and Pozega-Slavonia are now also considered risk areas.

Czech Republic: the urban region of Prague is considered a risk area.

Romania: the district of Iasi is now also considered a risk area.

The Dobritch oblast in Bulgaria and the counties of Buzau, Galati and Vrancea in Romania are no longer considered risk areas.

From October onwards, the travel warnings would be replaced with "differentiated travel and security warnings" applying to individual countries, the German Federal Foreign Office said in a statement.

An early lifting of travel warning in country-specific individual cases would be announced separately, according to the Foreign Office.

Unnecessary tourist travel to countries that were not classified as risk areas would still be discouraged if these countries restricted entry to or from Germany, the government stressed in the statement.

For the evaluation, the government would also consider the overall situation in the respective country, such as the state of health systems, when issuing travel warnings.

Following a joint agreement between the Federal Ministry of Health, the Federal Foreign Office and the Federal Ministry of the Interior, the Robert Koch Institute is responsible for publishing the list of international risk areas.