RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us

Eight Catalan ministers sent to prison, Spain issues arrest warrant for Puigdemont

Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn
Staff Writer | November 2, 2017
Prison is the Spanish judiciary’s response to the ousted Catalan government’s independence roadmap, despite repeated calls for dialogue and mediation in the past few weeks by Puigdemont’s cabinet, Catalan News reports.
Puigdemont ministers
Europe   The ousted Catalan government’s independence roadmap
Spain’s National Court provisionally jailed eight dismissed Catalan ministers without bail on Thursday.

Beginning with vice president, Oriol Junqueras, all the deposed officials who appeared in the Madrid court will spend the night behind bars. The officials are charged with rebellion, sedition and misuse of public funds.

The only exception was former business minister, Santi Vila, who stepped down from his post after disagreeing with the declaration of independence.

In a different ruling, Vila was ordered to be held pending a €50,000 bail payment. Apart from Junqueras, the officials held in custody without bail are the ministers of Home Affairs (Joaquim Forn), Foreign Affairs (Raül Romeva), Governance (Meritxell Borràs), Presidency (Jordi Turull), Social Affairs (Dolors Bassa), Justice (Carles Mundó) and Territory (Josep Rull).

Spain's State Prosecutor has requested a European arrest warrant for ousted Catalan leader Carles Puigdemont and four other former government officials who traveled to Brussels to seek legal council following Catalonia's independence declaration.

The official request was made directly to Belgium's high court judge and included charges of rebellion, sedition and embezzlement of public funds. Belgium's federal prosecutor has stated that the law will be adhered to as soon as the arrest warrant is received, according to EFE.

The four other former officials listed in the arrest warrant include Meritxell Serret, Antoni Comin, Lluis Puig, and Clara Ponsati.