RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us

5 towns in Philippines under lockdown after Taal eruption

Christian Fernsby ▼ | January 15, 2020
Amid safety concerns over the continuing threat of a hazardous Taal Volcano eruption, authorities in Batangas have imposed a lockdown today.
Philippines Taal lockdown
Volcano in the Philippines   The Batangas provincial police put the municipalities under complete lockdown
The Batangas provincial police put the municipalities of Agoncillo, San Nicolas, Talisay and Taal under complete lockdown. They imposed a partial lockdown on Lemery.

Topics: Philippines Taal eruption

Meanwhile, the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Calabarzon's list of towns placed in total lockdown included Laurel, aside from Taal, Agoncillo and Talisay.

The towns of Taal, Agoncillo, Talisay, and Laurel have a combined population of almost 200,000. (Taal Volcano eruption: What we know about affected towns, cities)

Batangas police provincial director Edwin Quilates said that the lockdown was implemented to keep people away from danger.

DILG Calabarzon also advised 14 local government units (LGUs) to implement mandatory evacuation in barangays that are "vulnerable to ballistic projectiles, base surges, and volcanic tsunamis" brought about by Taal Volcano's unrest.