RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us
Post Online Media

Rio Tinto recruits three energy executives to board

Rio TintoRio Tinto, a mining company, announced that it will appoint three new independent non-executive directors to the boards of Rio Tinto plc and Rio Tinto Limited.
Former Sasol Ltd chief executive David Constable and former Centrica plc chief executive Sam Laidlaw joined effective 10 February 2017.

David Constable is a highly distinguished executive, with strong credentials in the engineering, construction, energy and chemical sectors and brings an international perspective to the board having worked in Canada, the United States, Chile, Argentina, the Netherlands, China and South Africa.

Mr. Constable was the president and chief executive officer of Sasol Ltd from 2011 to 2016.

Before this appointment, he held various roles with Fluor Corporation from 1982 to 2011, most recently as Group president, Project Operations from 2009 to 2011 and, prior to this, as Group president, Power Business.

Mr. Constable has been a non-executive director of ABB Ltd since 2015 and was appointed to the board of Anadarko Petroleum Corporation in 2016.

Sam Laidlaw has had a long career in the energy industry in executive roles across the globe. Mr. Laidlaw was chief executive officer of Centrica plc from 2006 to 2014.

Previous roles include: executive vice president of Chevron Corporation; non-executive director of Hanson PLC; chief executive officer of Enterprise Oil plc; and president and chief operating officer of Amerada Hess Corporation.

Mr. Laidlaw was also a member of the UK Prime Minister’s Business Advisory Group and senior director at the Department of Transport from 2011 to 2014.

Since 2008, Mr. Laidlaw has been a non-executive director of HSBC Holdings plc, where he is chairman of the Remuneration Committee and the Nomination Committee.

He is also chairman of Neptune Oil & Gas Ltd.

Simon Henry, Royal Dutch Shell plc chief financial officer, will join the board with effect from 1 July 2017.

With more than three decades in the oil and gas industry, Mr. Henry brings a wealth of financial and board expertise to Rio Tinto.

Mr. Henry has enjoyed a 35-year career with Royal Dutch Shell, most notably as a board member and chief financial officer since 2009.

Mr. Henry was chief financial officer and executive vice president, Finance, Exploration & Production from 2004 to 2009, and, prior to this, he was head of Group Investor Relations from 2001 to 2004.

He brings extensive financial and strategy expertise to the Board, including audit committee experience. During his time at Royal Dutch Shell, he worked in the UK, the Netherlands, Egypt, Thailand and Asia-Pacific.

Mr. Henry has been a non-executive director of Lloyds Banking Group plc since June 2014 where he is a member of the Audit Committee and the Risk Committee.

Non-executive directors Robert Brown and Anne Lauvergeon have indicated their intention to step down from the board at the Rio Tinto Limited annual general meeting on 4 May 2017.


 LATEST MOVES FROM United Kingdom 


POST Online Media does not use cookies to collect information about visitors.   OK, hide this message   Third party ads may be using cookies, you can see how here.