RSS   Newsletter   Contact   Advertise with us
Post Online Media

Ashok Chawla takes over as non-executive chairman of Yes Bank

Ashok ChawlaYes Bank has received the approval from Reserve Bank of India for appointment of Ashok Chawla as non-executive part-time chairman of the bank.
Mr. Chawla, an Independent Director, was appointed on the Board on March 5, 2016. Mr. Chawla is a distinguished civil servant with over 40 years of experience in various sectors of the economy in India as well as in International Multilateral agencies.

He was the Chairman of the Competition Commission of India ("CCI").

He obtained his Masters in Economics from the Delhi School of Economics in 1972 and joined the Indian Administrative Service in 1973.

He started his career in the State of Gujarat and held various positions, including Chief Executive of important State-Owned enterprises. Notably, he was the head of the multi-billion dollar Sardar Sarovar Narmada multi-purpose project.

In the late 1980's, he was posted as Economic Counsellor in the Indian Embassy in Washington DC, USA. Between 1998 and 2011, Mr. Chawla worked in several senior positions in the Federal Government at Delhi.

He has been Permanent Secretary in key ministries of the Government of India such as Finance, Economic Affairs, and Civil Aviation.

He has been on the Boards of Reserve Bank of India, Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority, State Bank of India and Life Insurance Corporation of India.

He was also at different points in time India's Executive Director on the International Fund for Agricultural Development, Alternate Governor for India at the World Bank and at the Asian Development Bank.

Mr. Chawla had also held leadership positions in the corporate sector. He has been Chairman and Managing Director of Indian Petrochemicals Corporation Limited and a Director on the Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC).

In view of his rich and diversified experience, after his retirement from the civil service, he was appointed as the Chairman of the CCI for the period 2011-2016.

Mr. Chawla took charge as Non-Executive Part-time Chairman from the current Chairperson of the Bank, Radha Singh.




POST Online Media does not use cookies to collect information about visitors.   OK, hide this message   Third party ads may be using cookies, you can see how here.